Program Dates

2019 Application Schedule (Tentative, Subject to USJC Approval)

  • by Mid-September: Online Application Opens
  • Mid-October
  • Early November: Notification of Selected Participants

2019 Program Schedule (Tentative, Subject to USJC Approval)

Program dates subject to change.  Final program dates will be updated when 2019 application opens. 

  • Mid-November: Submission of Visa Documentation to Rice University
  • December – January: Pre-Departure Planning & Visa Application to U.S. Embassy/Consulate
  • Late January: Pre-Departure Webinar
  • Saturday, February 16: International Group Flight Departs from Tokyo and Arrival in Houston
  • Sunday, February 17: Sight-seeing in Houston
  • Monday – Tuesday February 18 – 19: Orientation at Rice University including OISS Check-in, Obtain Rice ID, and Initial Meeting with Host Professor/Lab
  • Wednesday, February 20 – Thursday, March 14: Research Internships at Rice University
  • Friday, March 15: Final Research Project Poster Presentation at Rice University
  • Saturday, March 16 – Friday, March 22: Final Week on East Coast including Women in STEM Leadership Program at Lehigh University and Science & Technology Policy Study Tour/Site Visits in Washington, DC
  • Saturday, March 23: International Group Flight Departs U.S. (lose 1 day as you cross the International Date Line)
  • Sunday, March 24: International Group Flight Arrives in Tokyo & Travel Home

Archived TOMODACHI STEM @ Rice University Program Schedule
For informational/archival purposes only.  The program schedule and planned program activities may vary in future years.  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email